Gentle Yoga


This class is taught by:

Susan Stevens

How did yoga come into my life?
 
I began practicing yoga as a teen in the late 60’s/early 70’s, before it was the “cool” thing to do. Our local Cincinnati PBS TV. Station had a show called ‘Lilias Yoga & You”. I practiced yoga with Lilias Folan, who was quite a yoga pioneer. I took random classes on & off for years. Fast forward to 2007, when I started studying privately with Gia Lupinacci Maxon. Shortly after that, I began attending a teacher-training program in Asheville with Stephanie Keach. I found my passion and my calling! Today, the yoga journey continues!
 
How do I practice on the mat?
 
I begin & end each day with a 15-minute silent meditation. This sets the tone for the day, and then provides closure at the end of the day. This introspective, mindfulness practice brings balance to my life. I also have a daily home asana practice that changes like the wind. I do whatever poses and flow feel particularly good to my body in the moment. My practice and my teachings on the mat are simple, gentle, and fuel a sense of well-being.
 
How do I practice off the mat?
 
Off the mat, I see life & the practice of yoga as an extension of the philosophical teachings of the yogic yamas & niyamas. Compassion for all beings, honesty, non-violence, and self-discipline are just a few of these teachings. I also try to be an instrument of peace, in hopes that my peace will become your peace, will become world peace.
 
Why a yoga teacher?
 
I have always taught something, from swimming lessons to preschool to Lamaze! I have a passion for learning, and then sharing what I know. With yoga, there is always something new to learn, therefore something new to teach. Since I love yoga so much, I just want to share this wellness practice with everyone! Imagine what a wonderful world it would be if everybody got to experience the gift of yoga!
 
What is my teaching style?
 
My yoga style is hard to explain in words. Eclectic, is a good description, as my teaching style is very free spirited, and draws from many different schools of thought. My style is playful and ever changing, and I always encourage my students to “make it your own”! I hold special certifications in senior yoga, prenatal/postpartum yoga, and restorative yoga, so adaptations and props are part of all my classes. Gentle yoga is what I practice and what I teach, making my classes safe and accessible to everyBODY! Yogi Bhajan says it all, “Travel light, live light, spread the light, be the light.”

A gentle approach to yoga postures and stress reduction. With emphasis on body awareness and alignment, this class helps you create a healthy and steady practice. Appropriate for everyone: beginners to yoga, recovering from injury or for those seeking a gentle approach on stress reduction. The class is taught with music, props, and at a comfortable temperature.


Upcoming classes:

  • Fri May 26 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Susan Stevens
  • Wed May 31 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Susan Stevens
  • Fri Jun 02 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Susan Stevens
  • Wed Jun 07 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Susan Stevens
  • Fri Jun 09 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Susan Stevens
  • Wed Jun 14 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Susan Stevens
  • Fri Jun 16 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Susan Stevens
  • Wed Jun 21 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Susan Stevens
  • Fri Jun 23 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Susan Stevens
  • Wed Jun 28 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Susan Stevens
  • Fri Jun 30 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Susan Stevens
  • Wed Jul 05 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Susan Stevens
  • Fri Jul 07 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Susan Stevens
  • Wed Jul 12 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Susan Stevens
  • Fri Jul 14 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Susan Stevens
  • Wed Jul 19 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Susan Stevens
  • Fri Jul 21 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Susan Stevens
  • Wed Jul 26 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Susan Stevens
  • Fri Jul 28 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Susan Stevens
  • Wed Aug 02 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm with Susan Stevens